Skip to content

Why I Read

I love reading. Reading is a portal to the world inside a book. Although I love reading, it can be hard. I read best in an environment that’s comfortable and not too loud, but not completely quiet either. I like to read during the day instead of before I go to sleep. 

For me reading a book that’s not realistic fiction or fantasy is really hard for me. I enjoy diving into a new world instead of reading twists on history and real-world events. I don’t enjoy reading in 3rd person writing either. Sometimes I don’t like the book and it too becomes hard to read. I also love reading graphic novels. I like reading the short sentences while looking at the beautiful illustrations. I think rereading can be fun with books you haven’t read in a long time. A goal I have for myself is to read and enjoy a non-fiction book. 

Currently I’m reading War Storm by Victoria Aveyard. It’s a mix of realistic fiction and fantasy. This is the 4th book in the Red Queen series. Normally I choose my books because they are suggested to me. If I like the book and there is a series I will read the next book. I read at school and at home because overall I enjoy reading and it happens to be homework. I think I am an average-good reader. Last year I probably read or reread 20 books. Over the summer I think I read five books. I prefer to read long books that are in a series. This gives me a long time to read about a favorite character.

Reading is the entrance to a land where I can relax and forget any worries I might have. When you open up the cover of a book it’s like opening the door to the best party ever. All the words work together like teammates, creating a magical, futuristic, or realistic world. This is simply one great reason I like reading. What types of books do you like? When do you like to read? Why do you read? Write your answer in the comments section.

Published in6th Grade

One Comment

  1. 30devensu

    I like how you wrote the post cohesively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar