Skip to content

Wisdom Tales

Photo by me

What is a wisdom tale? A wisdom tale is basically a story from a long time ago. Wisdom tales have different morals and are from all over the world. For example, The Talkative Turtle from India is one of the many Wisdom Tales. Its moral is to be humble.

Another example is a story called Fire, Water, Truth, and Falsehood. This tale teaches us to speak the truth. In this story, Fire, Water, Truth, and Falsehood are out getting cattle. Fire always avoids Water, and Truth and Falsehood don’t like each other. Truth says that they should split the cattle equally. Falsehood doesn’t speak, but wants more cattle than the others. Falsehood whispers to Water so only Water can hear. Falsehood tells Water to put Fire out. He explains that they will then all have more cattle. Water agrees and puts Fire out. Falsehood goes to Truth and says, “Water has destroyed our friend. We should leave Water behind and take our cattle to the mountains to graze.” Truth agreed. When Water tried to follow, he couldn’t go up the mountain. At the top of the mountain, Falsehood said to Truth, “I am more powerful than you. You will be my servant and I will be your master. The cattle will all belong to me!” Truth replied, “I will not be your servant.” They battled and finally asked Wind. Wind blew all around to ask people. In the end, Wind replied, “Falsehood could destroy Truth. But Truth can change everything.”

I made a comic to show this story. During the drawing process, I used the following apps to make my scenes: Sketchbook and Comic Life 3. In Sketchbook, I drew my art. I used layers to create a background. Each character had a layer, so when I only wanted certain characters in the scene, I blocked some of the layers. My favorite part of using Sketchbook was the amazing zooming. I could zoom in very easily and this helped me draw smaller details. In Comic Life 3, I put together the comic. Each drawing got its own rectangle. I put in text bubbles and my comic was basically done. Have you ever read a Wisdom Tale or made a comic? Leave your answer in the comments below.

 

Published in6th Grade

One Comment

  1. pdonnelly

    I really like the color, contrast, and clarity in your comic. I can tell you used Brittain Peck’s illustrating tips and techniques. I like how this story shows up in your current novel, The Last Cuentista too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar