Skip to content

Camp Kirkwood

On Wednesday the 6th graders entered the buses to go to the YMCA Camp Kirkwood. The 6th graders and the buses arrived after a 2 hour drive. It was a windy and rainy day. We were in a hurricane. 

We went to our bunks, claimed beds and put our sheets and sleeping bags on them. We then went to the dining hall for lunch. The day went on and we enjoyed the pool after taking the swim test. I jumped in and swam to the other side. After getting my blue band I hung out with my friends and swam. We ate spaghetti and meatsauce for dinner. We went to the cabins and read, played, and talked until it was time for the movie The Lorax.

We ran through the rain and mud and entered the dining hall for snow cones and a movie. We watched The Lorax and sat on picnic blankets. Soon it was time for bed. We went to our room and got in bed. 

The next day we woke up. We ate croissants for breakfast and went to activities. My group went to the V-swing. We pulled a rope and a person who was clipped in went up to the height of a telephone poll. Then the person up high yanked a rope and went flying on the second rope. Later we went to Kanga jump. It looks like a giant blob and is surrounded by sand. We jumped on the Kanga jump and played board games. That night was the birthday celebration. We ate cake -delicious yellow cake with chocolate frosting- and went to our cabins for a little free time.

We then walked to the campfire. We made s’mores, talked, and sang a pirate song. My group was one of the last to get s’mores. We went up and got a stick and a marshmallow. I roasted mine over the fire and it caught on fire. I blew it out and put it inside chocolate and graham crackers.   

The next morning the rain was over and we ate waffles and went to the zipline. You climbed the rope and went over the lake. Then my group and another group went to see Bubbles. At first I was confused. Then the counselor led us to the Gaga ball pit where Bubbles the pig was. Bubbles was a cute black haired pig. She would push the Gaga balls with her snout. After seeing Bubbles we went canoeing. I went in the back and paddled and talked to my group.

 

On the way back to school we talked and I was excited to go home and say hi to my family. I’m glad I went and to next year’s 6th graders, have fun!

Published in6th Grade

4 Comments

  1. 30maddyg

    I love how you described what food you had every meal.

  2. 30juliac

    I loved how you included everything but didn’t write too much on one subject.

  3. Nancy

    Avery,
    Your blog is wonderful!
    I loved reading about everything you experienced!
    Love,
    Grandma Nancy

  4. 30lindseyc

    I love your photos. Remember to site your photos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar